Sign In


Latest News

Club will have to wait for last race to claim champions title

Dartmouth Rowing Club had been boasting a handful of trophies at every event leading up to their home regatta last week.
Recent form, however, caught a crab as they picked up just two trophies, but still collected a host of top-three finishes.
Conditions were choppy on the 1,000m and 2,000m courses as 17 clubs from far and wide took part in the penultimate regatta of the West of England Amateur Rowing Association season.
The mixed senior A four of Jess Middleton, Tess Preston, Terry Wallis, Shaun Barker and cox Marie Lang came second, two lengths behind Bexhill RC.
Jess Middleton sculled very well to claim third in the J16 singles. Toryn Peel continued to improve with a win in the J14 singles, with Jordyn Watkins a close second.
Terry Wallis and Marc Alderman came third in the men’s open pair, behind Bexhill and Plymouth.
Jess Middleton and Tess Preston came third in the ladies’ open double scull. The J14 double sculls saw Jordyn Watkins and Toryn Peel take second be­hind Dart-Totnes.
Alice Middleton and Teagan Peel took second and third respectively in the ladies’ J14 singles.
Jess Middleton, Will Atkins, Adam Sharam, Tess Preston and cox Marie Lang came third in the mixed senior C fours.
Will Cumber­lidge had his first race as a senior C sculler and did not disappoint with a great third in a strong race. Will doubled up with Luke Sharam to claim second in the men’s senior C double sculls.
Sam Fotheringham and Will Atkins did themselves proud in a large field in the men’s novice double sculls, taking fifth. The men’s senior C four of Luke Sharam, Adam Sharam, Crispin Brabner, Will Cumberlidge and cox Marie Lang needed to beat Castledore to claim the championship on home water. After a slow start they pulled through to claim third behind Castledore and Falmouth.
This means a top-three finish at the last regatta in Bideford will be enough to see Dartmouth crowned champions.
The men’s eights went in the final race of the day, with Dart­mouth’s crew of Sam Fotheringham, Shaun Barker, Luke Sharam, Adam Sharam, Terry Wallis, Will At­kins, Crispin Brabner, Will Cumberlidge and cox Marie Lang being the first west of England crew over the line in fourth place behind three very strong Oxford Brookes crews.

Related Posts